Interesting Facts

  • Three national presidents of Alpha Phi Omega have been affiliated with Alpha Rho. They are: Dean Arno Nowotny (1946-1950), Charles P. Zlatkovich (1980-1982), and Wilfred Krenek (1994-1998). We are the only chapter to hold such an honor; no other chapter can claim to more than one national president.
  • Dean Arno Nowotny, an original advisor of Alpha Rho, became the third National President of Alpha Phi Omega in 1946. During his presidency, he doubled the number of APO chapters in the nation from 109 to 227. Dean Arno Nowotny died in 1982. The University of Texas named its Visitor's Center after him. It is located at the comer of Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. and Interstate 35.
  • The 1958 National Convention (Lone Star State in '58!) was hosted by Alpha Rho in Austin. Our official chapter shirt, the Shineboy, which can be seen on the right, was created for this convention.
  • In the fall of 2002, Mr. George L. Dacy, our esteemed advisor, was honored as the namesake of the national pledge class. Mr. Dacy pledged Alpha Rho in the spring of 1938 and had served the chapter for over thirty years as an advisor.
  • Today, Alpha Phi Omega is the single most representative undergraduate intercollegiate organization in the United States.
  • Alpha Rho was the first chapter formed in Texas, and the 40th in the nation. The chapter had 25 members back then, and is now one of the country's largest.
  • The Alpha Rho chapter of Alpha Phi Omega currently sits on Texas Round Table, an organization composed of the presidents and former presidents of the top 15 organizations on campus.
  • We can't run the flag on Kyle Field. Some people believe this is because it is sacred Aggie territory, but most of us believe it is because the Aggies are jealous of the size and impressiveness of our flag.
  • The Eugene C. Barker Texas History Collection on campus holds the original founding papers of Alpha Rho.